Chair – Nury Gabriela Ramirez Cely

Board Members
Shashank Gaur
Imran Shafique Ansari
Angela Sara Cacciapuoti
Richard Cziva

Past Members
Lola Awoniyi-Oteri (chair, 2016-2018)
Aaron Yi Ding (member, 2016-2018)
Rentao Gu (member, 2016-2018)

Nury Gabriela Ramirez Cely

Nury Gabriela Ramirez Cely currently works Cisco Systems as an Advanced Services Program Manager. She is an Electronics Engineer with eleven years of relevant professional experience and has six years experience as Program Manager leading, coordinating and following up on tight schedules for for Advanced Services at Cisco now and before for Intel Xeon based projects. She is a Senior Member of IEEE with leadership role managing women’s technical outreach and professional awareness projects.

Angela Sara Cacciapuoti

sara Dr. Angela Sara Cacciapuoti is an Assistant Professor in Wireless Communications at the University of Naples Federico II, co-founder and member of the research group “FLY: Future Communication Laboratory”, DIETI Department.
She received the D.Eng. (summa cum laude) degree in Telecommunications Engineering and the Ph.D. (Hons.) degree in Electronic and Telecommunications Engineering from the University of Naples Federico II in 2005 and 2009, respectively. She was a Visiting Researcher with the Broadband Wireless Networking Laboratory, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA, from 2010 to 2011, and the NaNoNetworking Center, Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya, Spain, in 2011. In 2011 and in 2012, she joined again the Broadband Wireless Networking Laboratory as a visiting researcher. She received different awards including “the Most Cited Ad Hoc Networks Articles since 2011 award”. Since 2014, she has been an Area Editor of Computer Networks (Elsevier) Journal. She has served as journal guest editor for different special issues and on the technical program committee of several leading IEEE conferences in wireless communications and networking.

Richard Cziva

Richard Cziva is a PhD candidate at the Network System Research Laboratory (Netlab) at University of Glasgow, United Kingdom. Richard received the B.Sc. degree in Computer Engineering from the Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary in 2013. His research focuses on the efficient allocation of resources in Cloud Data Centre networks through the exploitation of converged network-server resource management and Software-Defined Networking (SDN). Recently, he has also been working on lightweight, container-based Network Function Virtualization (NFV) and increasing the programmability of next-generation networks. Richard has two best paper awards (CloudNet’14, HPSR’15) and many publication in top conferences (INFOCOM, SIGCOMM, etc.) and journals (TNSM).

Shashank Gaur

  Shashank Gaur is a PhD Candidate at CISTER Research Institute and Faculty of Engineering of University of Porto. His research work focuses on context aware computing in wireless sensor networks and extension towards Internet of Things. He has been also involved with open source communities such as GNURadio, NS3, Twisted and loves any code written in Python. His past experience involves working for EADS, Infineon Technologies, Google Summer of Code, ECE Paris, etc. Shashank is an active volunteer for 8 years with IEEE. He is also member of some societies such as Computer, ComSoC, CES, RAS, etc.

Imran Shafique Ansari

Dr. Imran Shafique Ansari (S’ 07-M’ 15) completed his B.Sc. in Computer Engineering from King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM) in 2009 (with First Honors) and M.Sc. and PhD from King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) in 2010 and 2015, respectively. Currently, he is a Postdoctoral Research Associate (PRA) with Texas A&M University at Qatar (TAMUQ). From May 2009 through Aug. 2009, he was a visiting scholar with Michigan State University (MSU), East Lansing, MI, USA, and from Jun. 2010 through Aug. 2010, he was a research intern with Carleton University, Ottawa, ON, Canada.
He has been affiliated with IEEE and IET since 2007 and has served in various capacities. He is serving on the IEEE ComSoc Young Professionals (YP) Board since April 2016. He has served on IET CC-EMEA (Communities Committee-Europe, Middle-East and Africa) for a complete term from Oct. 2010-Sep. 2013 and has been re-elected to serve for another term from Oct. 2015-Sep. 2018. He is an active reviewer for various IEEE Transactions and various other journals. He has served as a TPC for various IEEE conferences. He is a recipient of TAMUQ Research Excellence Award 2016, a recipient of recognized reviewer certificate by Elsevier Optics Communications in 2015, a recipient of recognized reviewer certificate by OSA Publishing in 2014, a recipient of appreciation for an exemplary reviewer for IEEE Wireless Communications Letters (WCL) in 2014, a recipient of post-doctoral research award (PDRA) (first cycle) with Qatar national research foundation (QNRF) in 2014, a recipient of KAUST academic excellence award (AEA) in 2014, and a recipient of IEEE Richard E. Merwin student scholarship award in Jul. 2013.

Laura Ruiz-Gomez

  Laura Ruiz-Gomez receives her Electronic Engineer degree from the Universidad Surcolombiana, Neiva, Colombia in 2015 and her Masters of Systems and Computing Engineering, Communication Infrastructure Profile, from Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia in 2018. She works as Project Engineer, in the ICT field, at the Research Center of the Engineering Faculty, Universidad de los Andes. She also worked as instructor in the same university.

As volunteer, nowadays she is  the WIE Colombiam Section Chair; Member of the IEEE WIE Member Engagement Sub-committee, and member of the ComSoc YP Committee.